THE HUNGER GAMES TRILOGY REVIEW

hunger_games_trilogy So, here is the Trilogy Review, as promised. I think all of you know what the Hunger Games Trilogy is about, but if not I will just tell you now. The first book The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is about a girl called Katniss, who lives in a society where people live in so called Districts and all of the current 12 existent Districts are ruled by The Capitol. Katniss lives with her sister Prim and mother in District 12. Every year there is a reaping in every District, 2 children ( a boy and a girl ) from every District are chosen to fight in an arena and only one child can come out of this alive, so they basically have to kill everyone else to win. While they are fighting for their lives, the people who live in the Capitol watch them on TV, so it is basically like a tv-series, but everything is real and those “games” are called The Hunger Games. I think that is the main things you should know going into this.
Now I will talk a little bit about book 1 and 2 and after that mainly about the last book. But do not worry I will not spoil anything.I think I also have to say that I watched the movies of the first and second book before I read the book so yeah. I gave the first book five out of five stars, because I think it was a great first book for a trilogy. I loved Katniss as the protagonist and really liked the whole plot and world building. I have no idea how Suzanne Collins came up with this plot,world and just the whole idea, but it is sooo good ! I loved the characters and just everything. I read the book one year ago so I can not tell you anything more than that I loved it haha. The second book Catching Fire, which I also gave five out of five stars, was just as good as The Hunger Games if not better. There was just soo much going on and if I had not watched the movie before, I would have never guessed that this would happen. In this book we are introduced to a lot more characters, which are just awesome! Like Finnick, god I love Finnick and he also kind of looks really good haha. Then there is also for example Johanna, Mags, Beetee, Plutarch and a lot more. This was basically an AWESOME sequel, which you do not get often!
Now to the third book..what an ending for this trilogy. I gave this book only four out of five stars, because there were definitely some parts that I did not like. First I did not like the deaths at all! I think everything could have been done without the 2 most important deaths from this book. I am quite sad and upset about those. Then the ending, I felt like it was just so rushed, like BOOM the ending. And I did not like Katniss after one of the deaths ( obviously I can not tell you who dies, because this would be a spoiler, so it kind of sounds weird – ” after one of the deaths ” but yeah, you have to deal with it haha ), because she was so idk, she just gave up on life and was all ” I want to kill myself bla bla bla “. I mean I understand it really, but it was just so not Katniss like. But I have to say I really liked the start and middle part of the book, as well as the epilogue. I think I can not say more without spoiling so I guess this will be it for the Review. If you have not picked this trilogy up yet, DO IT! You will not regret it, it is awesome, as well as the movies. I am soooo excited for the Mockingjay movie now, because there are definitely some parts, which I really want to see on the screen.
May the odds be ever in your favor.
-Laura

Leave a comment